Public Holidays in NZ

nz employment law and public holidays

Public Holidays in New Zealand

The Holidays Act 2003 ("the Act") prescribes certain rules to follow when calculating employee's entitlements to Public Holidays and alternative holidays' for those who work on a Public Holiday. Business owners and managers need to be aware of the law as it relates to Casual Employees who work on a Public Holiday.

Currently, there are 12 public holidays in New Zealand:

  • Christmas Day
  • Boxing Day
  • New Year’s Day
  • 2nd of January
  • Waitangi Day
  • Good Friday
  • Easter Monday
  • ANZAC Day
  • King's birthday
  • Matariki
  • Labour day
  • The day of the anniversary of a province or the day locally observed as that day.

There are certain rules that apply to employee entitlements to Alternative Holidays (sometimes known as Days in Lieu), and pay calculations. It is important to have a good understanding of these rules as it may help avoid any potential disputes.

For dates these are observed on in the current year please see the following webpage:

More information on Annual and Public Holidays, Sick Leave, and Bereavement Leave  can be found in our comprehensive "Annual Holidays and Leave" ebook which can be purchased and downloaded immediately. Information on Parental Leave can be found in our 'Parental Leave' ebook.

For more information on our eBook "Annual Holidays and Leave" click here >>